The Importance of Respecting Everyone’s Importance

Blanche the Baby Koala -- All animals and all people are important.
Blanche the Baby Koala — All animals and all people are important.
There’s an old story that many speakers have appropriated and told as their own: The featured guest speaker seated at the head table says to the waiter, “Bring me some more butter.” The waiter says, “Can’t. One pat of butter per person.” “Do you know who I am?” asks the frustrated speaker. “Nope,” says the waiter. “Who are you?” “I am a famous author, here tonight as the featured guest speaker. After dinner, I’m going to share my wisdom with all these people. This group has brought me in at great expense. That’s who I am. And I want another pat of butter.”

“Well,” says the waiter, “do you know who I am?”

“No,” admits the speaker.

The waiter smiles triumphantly. “I am the man in charge of the butter.”

The point of the story is that we all need to maintain some modesty and some appreciation for everybody’s right to be important.

Excerpted from: “The Ultimate No B.S., No Holds Barred, Kick Butt, Take No Prisoners, and Make Tons of Money Business Success Book” by Dan Kennedy

2 thoughts on “The Importance of Respecting Everyone’s Importance

We welcome your comments.

