Gopher Turtles Relocated from Construction Site by HSUS

We love turtles around here. We help them get across our country roads safely and admire their slow, methodical approach to life. I had turtles as a child, starting when I had my tonsils removed and my parents thought a new pet would help me through the painful recovery. Then when I got better, I just kept getting more turtles. One of any pet was never enough for me. I remember watching the little guys navigate their own little world, a big tub filled with sand, fake trees and a big pond. I hope they were happy, at least they seemed to my seven-year-old self to be living an idyllic life.

This video is about the rescue of gopher tortoises from a new home construction site. Many of their kind are buried alive every year in the name of progress as buildings and homes replace what was once their habitat.

One thought on “Gopher Turtles Relocated from Construction Site by HSUS

We welcome your comments.

